The Commonwealth of Australia is a country in the southern hemisphere comprising the mainland of the worlds smallest continent, the major island of Tasmania and a number of other islands in the Southern, Indian and Pacific Oceans.

The neighbouring countries are Indonesia, East Timor and Papua New Guinea to the north, the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and the French dependency of New Caledonia to the north-east, and New Zealand to the south-east.

Fact file

Currency:Dollar (Australian)

GOV.UK travel advice for Australia


Featured programmes in Australia

Approved providers operating in Australia

The Leap
Pacific Discovery Logo
Gap Force
Oyster Worldwide
volunteering solutions logo