Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador is a representative democratic republic in South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, by Peru on the east and south, and by the Pacific Ocean on the west.

The country also includes the Galapagos Islands (Archipielago de Colon) in the Pacific about 965 kilometers (600 miles) west of the mainland.

Ecuador straddles the equator, from which it takes its name, and has an area of 256,370 square kilometers (98,985 mi).

Fact file

Capital: Quito
Currency: Dollar (US)
Religions: Roman Catholicism
Languages: Spanish

GOV.UK travel advice for Ecuador


Featured programmes in Ecuador

<h2>Filter by activity</h2><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->
<!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] --><h2>Filter by provider</h2><!-- [et_pb_line_break_holder] -->

Approved providers operating in Ecuador

volunteering solutions logo
Pacific Discovery Logo
Gap Force
Oyster logo
Verified by ExactMetrics