01869 338890 [email protected]


The Republic of India, commonly known as India (locally as Bhārat), is a sovereign country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by geographical area, the second most populous country and the most populous liberal democracy in the world.

Bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east, India has a coastline of over 7500 kilometres. It borders Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the north-east; and Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka, Maldives, and Indonesia.

Fact file

Capital: New Delhi
Currency: Rupee (Indian)
Religions: Secular Republic
Languages: English, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Malayalam, Nepali, Oriya, Panjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu

GOV.UK travel advice for India

Featured programmes in India

Approved providers operating in India

Frontier logo salamander on wood
Gap Force
Travellers Worldwide
Pod Volunteer
Africa Asia Venture AV
Outreach International
Projects Abroad
Oyster Worldwide