South Africa

The Republic of South Africa, is located at the southern tip of the African continent.

It borders Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland, and Lesotho, an independent enclave surrounded by South African territory.

South Africa is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, and is widely regarded as the most socially and economically developed country in the continent.

Fact file

Capital: Cape Town, Pretoria, Bloemfontein
Currency: Rand
Religions: Anglican, Ethical Culture
Languages: English, Afrikaans, Sotho, South Ndebele, Swati, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu

GOV.UK travel advice for South Africa


Approved providers operating in South Africa

Gap Force
Pod Volunteer
volunteering solutions logo
The Leap
Good Hope Logo
Africa Asia Venture AV
Oyster Worldwide